Early Childhood Excellence Awards

Research confirms that high-quality early childhood education is a critical component of K-12 success. That’s why Monroe Smart Start recognizes the exceptional work of our community’s early childhood educators! Every year during the Week of the Young Child, Monroe Smart Start hosts the Early Childhood Excellence Educator Awards.

Awards are given to early childhood educators that demonstrate high-quality care, collaboration, and a commitment to both addressing school readiness and improving the quality of early childhood education in Monroe County.

2019 Early Childhood Excellent Educator Award recipients:

2019 Excellent Educators Early Childhood Site
Kate Allan Rise and Shine Child Care
Melissa Bowers MCCSC Early Learning
Katie Brody Indiana University Campus Children’s Center
Darian Brummett Penny Lane West
Natalie Bzdyl SCCAP Head Start
Amy Calvert MCCSC Early Learning
Katelyn Deckard Compass Early Learning Center – Downtown
Nancy Dorantes Bloomington Center for Global Children
Sandra Downing Covenant Christian Early Learning Place
Vanessa Fenker-Snyder Campus View Child Care Center
Kate Gehringer The NEST at New Hope
Sunshine Geisel SCCAP Head Start
Jennifer George SCCAP Head Start
Mary George SCAAP Head Start
Kathy Guardon Love & Learn Preschool & Daycare
Tamara Hallett Children’s Corner Cooperative Nursery School
Rachel Hancock Bloomington Developmental Learning Center
Jamie Hendrickson Covenant Christian Early Learning Place
Seda Jackson Compass Early Learning Center-North
Donna Konstanski St. Marks Nursery School and Kindergarten
Kristen Levato Levato’s Little Ones
Jessica Mackie Jill’s House Intergenerational Preschool
Mia Parker Imagine Daycare
Brittany Pierson Rainbow Child Care Center
Abigail Ray Children’s Village Child Development and Education
Constance Romine MCCSC Early Learning
Teresa Wynn SCCAP Head Start
Christina Younghans Hoosier Courts Nursery School